Student Employment Reminders

‘Tis the season for students of all ages to seek out summer employment and internships. As your business considers extending offers to students and minors, here are some important reminders:

  • The current minimum wage in Michigan is $9.65 for employees age 18 or older. Employees under 18 may be paid 85% of the current minimum wage and may be paid a training wage of $4.25 during the first 90 days of employment.
  • All hours of work must be compensated regardless of the nature or location of the services rendered except in limited circumstances, many of which relate to education-based experiences.
  • Unless they have obtained a high school diploma or equivalent certification, all minors in the State of Michigan are required to obtain and submit to their employer a work permit to verify their eligibility for employment.
  • Minors must also obtain age certification and provide it to their employer to assure the employer’s compliance with child labor laws.
  • Children under 14 may not be employed, except in limited recreational situations (e.g., golf caddying and refereeing under specific conditions).
  • Minors may not work later than 10:30 pm during school weeks and 11:30 pm during non-school weeks. Combined hours of work and school may not exceed 48 hours in any given week.
  • Special child labor laws apply to work in the entertainment or agricultural industries.
  • The Fair Labor Standards Act requires all employers to visibly display the approved state and federal labor law posters so that employees are aware of their rights. Failure to display the correct posters can result in significant fines.

Have questions or need more information? Give us a call at (248) 477-6300. We are happy to help.