This month, the Michigan Legislature eliminated some fees from the Driver Responsibility Law. After October 1, 2012, drivers are no longer responsible for paying the $150 fee per year for two consecutive years for:
Similarly, the $200 fee per year for two years for the following violations is eliminated after October 1, 2012:
Drivers should note that these changes do not take effect until October of 2012, and that other driver responsibility fees will remain intact, such as the $1,000 fee per year for two consecutive years for various serious offenses
(e.g., manslaughter, negligent homicide, fleeing or eluding an office, a felony resulting from operation of a motor vehicle), the $500 fee per year for two consecutive years for alcohol- and controlled substance-related violations, reckless driving, and misdemeanor violations of the Insurance Code.
For more details about Michigan Driver Responsibility, click here for Michigan’s official website.